Posted by: VxJasonxV | August 10, 2006

Why Meebo Me is unnecessary

I recently read the WordPress.com news post about the new Meebo IM widget, for WordPress.com blogs.

I have to say, the ‘features’ of this widget just plain pissed me off. Why did meebo create ANOTHER layer of abstraction for their users? Something like this would have been pretty awesome for the general IM community.
Remember, I don’t use Meebo, I never have, nor do I know any Meebo users. If I make a mistake please correct me, as this is strictly an opinion. I have no personal need for Meebo, so maybe one of you knows something that I don’t.

In order to make my point, I have to go a bit into the past.

What is Meebo?
Meebo is a gateway IM service. It’s meant to give AIM/Y!/MSN/ICQ/Jabber to without the ability to run an actual IM client the ability to communicate with the outside world. It’s a great idea (in theory), because they didn’t create YET ANOTHER closed (or even open, doesn’t matter) discussion protocol.

So, they’re enabling people the use of their AIM/Jabber/etc. accounts they already have, anywhere where they have a relatively modern web browser.

So could someone please tell me why you’re REQUIRED to be logged into Meebo in order to actually converse with visitors? This seems awfully redundant.

In reading through their Press Release, I see that they offer ‘live statistical data organized by widget’, and the ability to ‘engage in private conversations directly from your web page or wordpress weblog’. (No, those are not exact quotes, please click the Press Release link to read it all.)

So this is great, just great.
Whenever you’re at home, using your prefered IM client, now you need to log on to their web site (which is a problem for protocols disallowing multiple connections like Y! and MSN) in order to chat through your website…
Surely Meebo could have just played proxy (like they already do) and allowed conversations simply by being logged onto any network, using any client…

Statistical software is cool, that’s best left up to Meebo’s website. But discussion? Give me a freaking break! The level of redundancy (largely due in part to proprietary IM networks, admittedly) is just strangely ironic. I absolutely loathe Meebo for releasing this ‘feature’ that locks you into a specific configuration/software.

This is one of those pieces of software that I call ‘specific use’. It’s GREAT for the mobile users, and those will be using Meebo anyways… but for the rest of us? Seriously, great way to go after more users Meebo. Reeeeeeeeeeeeeally smart.


Responses

  1. Somebody at Meebo told me about their jabber gateway. You can chat with your web visitors through GAIM or Trillian or whatever. They don’t publicize it because the popular clients aren’t equipped to handle new buddies/nicks without approval.

  2. They didn’t actually create another protocol, the above commenter is correct. It’s just using jabber. I’ve logged into my meebo account on gaim and it works fine, the only problem is that my offline users for that group grows all the time, and it of course takes time because every time someone views the widget it sends me a request to authorize them on my buddlist. Afterwards, that username that I just authorized is always offline. It will cause your buddy list to grow.

    It would be nice though to have it hook in with one of my other jabber accounts instead.

  3. Well Andy, in this case, Meebo needs to push the issue that JABBER ACTUALLY WORKS and get more people to use it. :)

    After all… they provide support for it already, what have they got to lose?


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

