Posted by: VxJasonxV | October 7, 2006

I Feel a Fool

Perfect bit for backwards day…
I noticed this week that my Gentoo desktop at work had not yet been updated to GCC 4.1.1, so I told myself that I should take this weekend to update it (and have been). All I did was open up a new screenon my desktop session(i.e. a new window in GNU screen, a new screen terminal, whatever you want to call it), ssh around to my work desktop, and started RTFMing.

Along that way, I decided to start doing a little bit of general maintence, so I opened up a completely new xterm and went to work. I did a few etc-update’s on my work desktop while the emerge -e world still worked away, changed a few unrelated config files, so on and so forth.

While keeping my eye on the emerge -e world at work in the first terminal, I figured I’d go ahead and update my desktop computer in my second terminal. Towards the end of the update, I looked at my two xterms, each in their own screen session, and looked at what was running in each terminal.
The first xterm, was using a screen session actually resident on my home desktop, with one window having ssh’ed to work, and running the emerge -e world
The second xterm, was using a screen session actually resident on my work desktop, with one window having ssh’ed to home, running the emerge -auDvt world

Totally backwards, and horribly ironic.


Leave a Reply

Categories

