Posted by: VxJasonxV | May 20, 2007

My Cropr?

[edit]
Courtesy of Wyscan in the Jyte Pibb Room, I was given the link to another site which is for all intents got the job done (upload an image -> crop, resize, whatever).
The best part of this site is that it offers the picture back in any one of 6 popular formats regardless of the original uploaded format (god bless ImageMagick).
Enough of my babble. The site I was given was SnipShot.

Thanks, Wyscan!

However, FWIW, I’d still like to find the site I originally stumbled across, because the fact that I can link users into it with a preset image size target is totally invaluable.
[/edit]
[edit2]
‘lo and behold, it was in my history at work (took a while to find, though).
The site I found described below is:
MyPictr.
Didn’t I tell you it had a trendy Web 2.0 name?
[/edit2]

Dear LazyWeb,

When at work last week, I came across a website linked from god knows where. It was a website that allowed you to upload a image, and use online tools to resize/crop said image. The kicker is that it is geared as a quick and easy avatar/userpic maker.

I can no longer find this site.

Having said that, I hope someone that comes across this blog (hello Larry the Cow viewers!) will know what I’m talking about.

More details:

  • The site is a third-party work. What I mean by that is some sites (Vox, LiveJournal, WordPress too IIRC) all have image cropping tools built in when you upload a picture to use as a UserPic/Avatar.
  • The site has a drop down box with a ton of types of forums, and blogging sites, which are designed to pre-select the maximum size your image can be for uploading.
    • i.e. It lists vB, IPB, phpBB, LiveJournal, etc. And when you select the LiveJournal option, for example, it pre-fills Height/Width to 100 x 100.
  • There is (of course) also a “custom” option which allows you to pick whatever size you need.
  • Lastly, there is a quick reference page which provides you a quick link you can use to send your visitors to the site with the width and height pre-filled for their use. (I’m sure it was just as simple as linking to http://www.whatever.com/?width=###&height=###)
  • IIRC, this script was downloadable and embeddable, or it may only be a vB plugin. Something like that, all I know was that is was rather handy.

The sad part about all this is that I’m sure I didn’t bookmark it. But if someone can direct me to it again, I’ll be sure to put it in ma.gnolia


Leave a Reply

Categories

